Maha-kumbh ( Simhasth ) 2016


Ujjain Simhastha is a Hindu religious mela held every 12 years in the Ujjain city of Madhya Pradesh, India. The name is also transliterated as Sinhastha or Singhastha. In Hindi, the fair is also called Simhasth or Sinhasth The name derives from the fact that it is held when the Jupiter is in Leo.
It is one of the four fairs traditionally recognized as Kumbha Melas, and is also known as Ujjain Kumbh Mela. According to Hindu mythology, Vishnu dropped drops of amrita (the drink of immortality) at four places, while transporting it in a kumbha (pot). These four places, including Ujjain, are identified as the present-day sites of the Kumbh Mela.”Kumbh” in its literal English translation means “Pot”, which emerged from “Samudra Manthan”(Churning of the Ocean) between Gods and Devils. The term ‘Mela‘ signifies’Fair
When I was working in kumbh. I was trying to know the culture and rituals in kumbh Mela. I had great experience of Mela. Being a traveler photographer I always in search of the other world or something different. There so may stories in these world all you have to need an good eye to see. 
What people know about kumbh and naga sadhu. They smoke weed and live there life like hippy without cloths, eat whatever but this is not truth. I saw them from very close. I am from Ujjain the same city where last maha-kumbh happened. I feel very lucky coz I had that memories of some other world. Kumbh is something which belongs with the culture. Culture of sanathan dharm. So I would say everyone should see this biggest gathering of holiness.

Leave a comment